New County Board District Boundaries

Every ten years following the National Census, local jurisdictions must evaluate their district lines for School Board and County Commissioner. Each district must be as equal in population as possible to ensure equal representation.

When the Heard County Board of Commissioners was reconstituted in 1990, the district lines were set in the enabling legislation to correspond exactly to the district lines for the Heard County Board of Education. Therefore the lines are set by the School Board.

Following the 2010 Census, the populations of the districts as they were drawn in 2002 were checked. There were no changes in the lines at that time due to the fact that the population numbers were more equal in 2010 than they were in 2000.

After the final numbers for the 2020 Census were compiled, the School Board consulted with the Legislative and Congressional Reapportionment Office to see if district lines needed to be shifted to equalize population.

As a result of that study, the following changes were made to the district lines as they were drawn in 2002. Four regions have been moved from one district to another. If you are a voter affected by these changes, you will receive a new precinct card this year to inform you of the change in Board of Education and County Commissioner District representation.

Region #1 – Moved from District #3 to District #5:

Area bounded by the Alabama State Line, the Gas Pipeline, Jim T. Mickle Rd, Town Creek, and an Unnamed Stream. This affects voters living on the following roads:

Brown Road

Drummond Road – All addresses north of the Pipeline (1333)

New Hope Road

Ridgeway Road – All addresses between the Pipeline (2001) and the Town Creek Bridge (3960)

The following roads are also affected, but there are currently no voters living in these areas:

Arrington Road south of Town Creek

Awbreys Gin Road

Jim T Mickle Road – Odd numbered addresses between the Pipeline and the Town Creek Bridge Mason Road

Region #2 – Moved from District #3 to District #2:

Area bounded by Notnomis Road, Roosterville Road, Deer Creek, and Spradlin Road. This affects voters living on the following roads:

Notnomis Road – Odd numbered addresses from Spradlin Road (1759) until Roosterville Road

Roosterville Road – Odd numbered addresses from Notnomis Road until the Deer Creek Crossing (address numbers 6089 through 7015)

Spradlin Road – Odd numbered addresses from the Deer Creek Bridge until Notnomis Road (no voters live on this stretch)

Region #3 – Moved from District #3 to District #2

Area bounded by Centralhatchee Creek, Deer Creek, Little Creek, and Spradlin Road.

This affects Spradlin Road – Even numbered addresses from the Little Creek Bridge until the Deer Creek Bridge – no voters currently on this stretch. This also moves all voters living on Judy Road.

Region #4 – Moved from District #1 to District #4:

Area bounded by Otis Ransby Road, the Gas Pipeline, the Power Line, and Thompson Road. This affects voters living on the following roads:

Otis Ransby Road – Odd numbered addresses from the beginning until the Gas Pipeline (1655) Lane Road – all addresses from the Power Line (3473) to Otis Ransby Road Thompson Road – Even numbered addresses from Otis Ransby Road until the Power Line (no voters on this stretch)

If there are any questions regarding the district line changes, please call the Elections and Registration Office at 706-675-3907.